AFC Announces Seeding for AFC Asian Cup 2023; Qatar in Pot 1

AFC Announces Seeding for AFC Asian Cup 2023; Qatar in Pot 1 By A Robin - April 12, 2023
AFC Asian Cup 2023

AFC Asian Cup 2023

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) announced on Friday the seeding for the AFC Asian Cup Qatar 2023 Final Draw, which will take place on May 11, 2023, in Doha, Qatar.

As with the previous editions of Asia's crown jewel, Qatar have been allocated the first position in Pot 1 ahead of the draw to be held at the Katara Opera House to ensure that the host nation commences the tournament with the opening match scheduled for Jan. 12, 2024, the AFC said in a statement on its website.

Joining the hosts and defending champions in Pot 1 are the teams ranked from second to sixth in Asia in the latest FIFA Ranking namely, four-time winners Japan, three-time champions the Islamic Republic of Iran, two-time winners Korea Republic, 2015 champions Australia and Saudi Arabia who will be aiming to claim their fourth Continental crown.

Pot 2 will comprise 2007 champions Iraq, 2019 hosts the United Arab Emirates, Oman, 2011 semi-finalist Uzbekistan, two-time runners up China and Jordan.

Meanwhile, Bahrain, Syria, Palestine, Vietnam, Kyrgyz Republic and Lebanon will take their places in Pot 3, while India, debutants Tajikistan, Thailand, Malaysia, Hong Kong and Indonesia will complete the line-up in Pot 4.

Similar to the expanded 2019 edition in the United Arab Emirates, the 24 teams will be divided into six groups of four teams each across Groups A to F, with the top two and four best third-placed teams advancing into the final 16 of the competition before the Asian champions are crowned on Feb. 10, 2024.

Some of the most iconic names of Asian football are expected to grace the Final Draw as Draw Assistants with the Head Coaches from the 24 teams also poised to be in attendance.


By A Robin - April 12, 2023

Leave a comment