Top 5 Most Successful team in IPL’s history

Top 5 Most Successful team in IPL’s history By Naman Sharma - April 12, 2022
Top 5 Most Successful team in IPL history

Top 5 Most Successful team in IPL’s history

Over the years, the Indian Premier League has been a platform to provide young talent an opportunity to showcase their talent and rub shoulders with experienced players of different countries. As cricket is called a team game, and each player is as important as the other 10 in the team. The IPL Purple Cap and Orange cap winners in each edition also play a key role in the team’s success. 
Here are the Top 5 Most Successful teams in IPL history: 

1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

The CSK team tops the list of most successful teams in the Indian Premier League history with a winning percentage of 60.25 in a total of 196 games. They have appeared in playoffs in 11 editions and lifted the title 4 times under the leadership of MS Dhoni. Over the years, the team has managed to retain its core players and maintain stability, which has helped them to prosper well and ultimately be the champions. Since the inception, the CSK players like Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, and Ruturaj Gaikwad are the IPL orange cap winners. 

2. Mumbai Indians (MI)

The team with 5 IPL titles has a winning percentage of 58.25 in 218 appearances. The charismatic captain, Rohit Sharma has been the guiding force behind the team, with the players executing the plans well in crunch moments. The players like Jasprit Bumrah, Surya Kumar Yadav, Pandya brothers have made it to the Indian team by being the key performers of the franchise. While Rohit got rewarded with the captaincy of the national team as well. 

3. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

The 2-time IPL champion, Kolkata Knight Riders have been one of the finest performers as well in the tournament. In 210 matches of the Indian Premier League, they have 52.38% wins. They won the title in 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. In the recent editions, the KKR players like Varun Chakravarthy and Venkatesh Iyer got a national call-up to the Indian team. In the 2022 season, the team is led by Shreyas Iyer. 

4. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) 

The Hyderaba- based franchise secured it’s first-ever title in 2016, under the captaincy stint of David Warner. The team has a winning percentage of 50.72 in a total of 138 matches in the tournament. They have not been up to the mark with their performances in the last few years, but will look to better their performance in the 2022 edition, with experienced Kiwi batter Kane Williamson at the helm. 

5. Rajasthan Royals (RR)

The team’s only title win came in the inaugural edition, where they came as an underdog and produced a remarkable performance under Shane Warne. The team is 5th on this list with 49.42% wins in 175 matches of Indian Premier League history. In the 2022 season, the team is being led by Sanju Samson, who has been one of the best batters for the team for the last few editions. The captain along with the team management has put together a strong team for this season. 

By Naman Sharma - April 12, 2022

Leave a comment