Team Nicknames at FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

Team Nicknames at FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 By Josephine Justin - November 10, 2022
Team Nicknames at FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

With just 10 days to go for the tournament, the 2022 World Cup promises to be an exciting event, with many of the world's best teams competing for the title.
A total of 211 teams entered the qualification process for the 2022 World Cup, which is the highest number of teams to ever enter for a single edition of the tournament.

The 32 nations that have qualified for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 are listed below, along with some of their more well-known team nicknames, and while some teams are referred to by more than one nickname, this list highlights some of the more popular names that are frequently used when a team is recognized by their fans internationally. 

  • Argentina: La Albiceleste
  • Australia: The Socceroos
  • Belgium: Les Diables Rouges / Rode Duivels
  • Brazil: Canarinho, or Seleção
  • Cameroon: Lions indomitables
  • Canada: The Canucks
  • Costa Rica: Los Ticos
  • Croatia: Vatreni
  • Denmark: Danish Dynamite
  • Ecuador: La Tri, or la Tricolor
  • England: The Three Lions
  • France: Les Bleus
  • Germany: Die Mannschaft, or Die Nationalelf
  • Ghana: The Black Stars
  • Iran: Team Melli
  • Japan: Samurai Blues
  • México: El Tri / El Tricolor / Tricolores
  • Morocco: Les Lions de l’Atlas, Atlas Lions
  • Netherlands: Oranje
  • Poland: Bialo-Czerwoni
  • Portugal: Selecção das Quinas
  • Qatar: Al Ennabi
  • Saudi Arabia: Al Sogour Al Akhdar
  • Senegal: Les Lions de la Teranga
  • Serbia: Plavi
  • South Korea: Asian Tigers, Taeguk Warriors, Red Devils.
  • Spain: La Furia Roja
  • Switzerland: Schweizer Nati, or just Nati
  • Tunisia: Les Aigles de Carthage
  • Uruguay: Charrúas
  • USA: The Stars and Stripes
  • Wales: The Dragons
By Josephine Justin - November 10, 2022

Leave a comment